Community member Susan L. Chast has created a haiku for each of the revolutionary love practices. Read them on her blog here, and see them as artwork on Instagram.

Teaching and practice with Valarie Kaur
Part one of her compass: See No Stranger

1. Wonder
Older and braver
we ease toward neighbor trees
close enough to learn.

2. Grieve
See my wound and let
me see yours. See potential
limbs that scar tall trees.

3. Fight
Freeze, flee, fawn, and flop
won’t serve us today.
Faith shields our roots.

Teaching and practice with Valarie Kaur
Part two of her compass: Tend the Wound

4. Rage
Catching rage in jars
where it lights up like fireflies
signaling its truths.

5. Listen
Those of us who can
read fireflies welcome their sparks
and take detailed notes.

6. Re-Imagine
In tree branches, dreams
of collective creation
change everything.

Teaching and practice with Valarie Kaur
Part three of her compass: Breathe and Push

7. Breathe
Reaching forward with
breath as if we were trees with
roots nearly entwined.

8. Push
Reach. Inhale. Exhale.
Prepare. Forgive. Try again
with lighter load.

9. Transition
We are not alone.
Pain sears temporarily.
And then roots touch roots.

10. Joy
Engagement begins!
And to know relationship
thrills, pulses in our roots.

You must have joy like
chocolate chips in cereal—
semi-sweet, alive.